5ICm Banner



5ICM logo









 

Ecumenical Events in and near the
Illawarra Region


Email admin@5icm.org.au to advertise ecumenical events on this page and in the Illawarra Prayer Network newsletter. Only events in the Illawarra (Wollongong, Shellharbour and Kiama local government areas) are advertised in the newsletter. There is no charge for this service. The inclusion of events in this list does not imply 5icm members agree with all the views expressed at these events.


Regular Events:

First Monday of each month
Southern Worship
This is an interdenominational Connect Group for musicians and singers.
Details: 7:00-8:00 p.m.
Contact: Jo-Anne Rushworth 0449 068 984

Tuesdays during school terms,
Wollongong Gospel Choir Rehearsals

7:00 pm at Wollongong Senior Citizens Centre,
192 Gipps Road, Gwynneville
Contact: John Sandercock 0499 444 151

Tuesdays (during school terms)
Good Shepherd Welcome Centre
For men, women and children. If you are doing it tough or feeling lonely and would like somebody to talk to, come and chat over a free cuppa and a free light meal of Soup and Sandwiches. Or just come and relax for a while, read the paper or browse through a magazine, or just chill out!
Venue and time: 11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. Scouts Hall, Kiama Harbour


Wednesdays (during school terms)
Christian Meditation Group
Venue: 4:00-5:00 p.m. Fellowship Centre, Kiama Uniting Church, Manning St.
Contact: Michele Broad 0400 324 708. All welcome.

Thursdays
Inspire Church Food Care
The food care program is to help people who are struggling financially by providing grocery items at reduced prices.
Details: 9:30a.m.-2:30p.m. 35 Kurrawa Cres, Koonawarra.
Download flyer

Thursdays (
during school terms)
Good Shepherd Welcome Centre
Morning tea followed by mahjong, jigsaws, scrabble and other games.
Venue and time: 10:00 a.m. Scouts Hall, Kiama Harbour


First Friday of each month
Healing Service and Mass
All welcome. Mass will be celebrated for Catholics by Fr George Condookala. Prayer for healing by Fr George and Derek Thompson of the Illawarra Prayer Network.
Details: 10:30 a.m. Patients Lounge, Level 3, to the right of lifts, Wollongong Private Hospital.

Second Saturday of each month
Healing Prayer and Mass
All welcome. Mass will be celebrated for Catholics by Fr George Condookala at 11:00 a.m.
Venue: 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Wollongong Public Hospital Chapel.

Saturdays
Serenity 12-Step Support Group
Ps Jonathan Hyratt, associate minister of Corrimal Community Church, runs this group for people who struggle with addictions to drugs, alcohol, gambling, sex & love, over-eating, co-dependency, etc.
Details: 5pm at Albion Park Neighbourhood Centre, Russell St, Albion Park
Contact: Jono on 0412 174 181 or email life_recovery@hotmail.com

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Upcoming Events:
13th to 21st January 2019
Albion Park Scripture Union Family Mission

Details:
All Saints Anglican Church, 253 Tongarra Rd, Albion Park
Contact:  Lucy Mayer of SUFM by email or phone 0468 797 445

Lead up to 26th January 2019
Change the Heart Prayer Services
Common Grace is a non-denominational ministry that organises prayer services for justice for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders leading up to the 26th January.
Details of local Services:

Saturday 19th Jan 7:00 p.m. Central Church, 4 Fitzwilliam St, Port Kembla.

Sunday 20th January 7:00 p.m. Berry Uniting Church, 77 Albert St, Berry Download flyer.
Contact: Rev. Andrew Watts 0400 059 191

18th - 25th January 2019
Week of Prayer for Christian Unity
The theme for the week of prayer in 2019, "Justice, and only justice, you shall pursue ..." is inspired by Deuteronomy 16:18-20. The resources for the week have been prepared by members of different churches in Indonesia.
For details see World Council of Churches website. In the southern hemisphere this is also celebrated around Pentecost.

Monday 28th January
Australia Day Public Holiday

Tuesday 29th January
School Term 1 Begins

Wednesday 30th January - first day of school Term 1

Friday 1st February
Healing Service and Mass
All welcome. Mass will be celebrated for Catholics by Fr George Condookala. Payer for healing by Fr George and Derek Thompson of the Illawarra Prayer Network
Details: 10:30 a.m. Patients Lounge, Level 3 turn right out of lifts, Wollongong Private Hospital.

Thursday 7th February
CMS Illawarra Mission Connection Meeting
Speakers: Adrian and Anita Lovell on Bolivia and Beyond. They are regional directors of MOCLAM, Bolivia.
Details: 12:30-2:00 p.m. St Mark's Anglican Church, West Wollongong
BYO Lunch. Tea/Coffee provided. Please bring your mug/cup
Contact: Bev Defty.

Friday 22nd Feb
Prayer Breakfast Launch & Illawarra Business Hub breakfast meeting

Saturday 23rd & Sunday 24th February
60th Anniversary Franklin Graham Tour
The Franklin Graham tour event celebrates 60 years since the Billy Graham Crusade in 1959.
Details: 7:30 p.m. Sydney International Convention Centre.
Contact: Langdon Stewart

Sunday 24th February
Kiama HymnSing
Hymn and chorus singing followed by afternoon tea.
Details: 2:00 p.m. Kiama Uniting Church cnr Manning & Bong Bong Sts.
Contact for song requests: Reuben (4233 2490) or Gail (4232 1630)

Friday 1st March
World Day of Prayer Services - "Come, everything is ready!"
Slovenia will be the focus of the prayer services.

Saturday 9th March
Agape Children's Home, Thailand - Support Dinner
Keiraville Uniting Church are holding this fund-raising dinner for the 2 children they sponsor at the Agape Home in Chiang Mai, Thailand.
Venue: 6:00 p.m. Farmborough Grove Retirement Village Admin Centre, 66 Waples Rd, Unanderra.
Cost: $25 for Thai food,Thai dancing, other food and entertainment.
Tickets and Enquiries: Robyn Johnson 0414 307 910. Download flyer.

Sunday 7th April
End of Daylight Saving Time (1 hour backwards)

Friday 12th April
School Term 1 Ends

Sunday 14th April
Palm Sunday

Maundy Thursday 18th April

Friday 19th April
Good Friday

Easter Saturday 20th April Public Holiday

Easter Sunday 21st April

Easter Monday 22nd April Public Holday

ANZAC Day 25th April Public Holiday

Orthodox Good Friday 26th April

Friday 26th to Sunday 28th April
VMTC Healing Training School
Venue: Chittick Lodge, Gerringong
Cost: $260 for meals & accommodation, $60 registration.
Contact: Andrea Gibbons 0407 169 708. Download flyer.

Orthodox Holy Saturday 27th April

Orthodox Easter Sunday 28th April
Kiama HymnSing
Hymn and chorus singing followed by afternoon tea.
Details: 2:00 p.m. Kiama Uniting Church cnr Manning & Bong Bong Sts.
Contact for song requests: Reuben (4233 2490) or Gail (4232 1630)

Monday 29th April
School Term 2 Begins

Sunday 12th May
Mother's Day

Friday 24th May
Illawarra Prayer Breakfast

Sunday 26th May
National Sorry Day

Monday 27th May
Reconciliation Day

Thursday 30th May
Ascension Day

Sunday 9th June
Pentecost

Whit Monday 10th June
Queen's Birthday Public Holiday

Trinity Sunday 16th June

Sunday 23rd June
Kiama HymnSing
Hymn and chorus singing followed by afternoon tea.
Details: 2:00 p.m. Kiama Uniting Church cnr Manning & Bong Bong Sts.
Contact for song requests: Reuben (4233 2490) or Gail (4232 1630)

Friday 5th July
School Term 2 ends

Monday 22nd July
School Term 3 begins

Sunday 28th July
Kiama HymnSing
Hymn and chorus singing followed by afternoon tea.
Details: 2:00 p.m. Kiama Uniting Church cnr Manning & Bong Bong Sts.
Contact for song requests: Reuben (4233 2490) or Gail (4232 1630)

Monday 5th August
Bank Holiday

Sunday 22nd September
Kiama HymnSing
Hymn and chorus singing followed by afternoon tea.
Details: 2:00 p.m. Kiama Uniting Church cnr Manning & Bong Bong Sts.
Contact for song requests: Reuben (4233 2490) or Gail (4232 1630)

Friday 27th September
School Term 3 ends

Sunday 6th October
Start of Daylight Saving Time (1 hour forward)

Monday 7th October
Labour Day Publc Holiday

Monday 14th October
School Term 4 Begins

Friday 1st November
All Saints' Day

Monday 11th November
Remembrance Day

Sunday 24th November
Kiama HymnSing
Hymn and chorus singing followed by afternoon tea.
Details: 2:00 p.m. Kiama Uniting Church cnr Manning & Bong Bong Sts.
Contact for song requests: Reuben (4233 2490) or Gail (4232 1630)

Sunday 1st December
First Sunday in Advent

Friday 20th December
School Term 4 ends

Wednesday 25th December
Christmas Day

Thursday 26th December
Boxing Day Public Holiday